Back to Vice Chairs

John Schiller

John Schiller

President & CEO,
Energy XXI

John D. Schiller is Energy XXI’s President & Chief Executive Officer and has been since the company’s inception in 2005. John built Energy XXI with an “acquire and exploit” strategy that has led to six acquisitions totaling over $5 billion with the most recent being the $2.3 billion acquisition of EPL Oil & Gas in June 2014. His career spans more than 30 years in the oil and gas industry, and his work was recognized in 2014 when he was named the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year. In addition to forming the company, John has served as: Vice President, Exploration and Development, for Devon Energy from April 2003 to December 2004 with responsibility for domestic and international activities; Executive Vice President, Exploration and Production, for Ocean Energy, Inc. from 1999 to April 2003, overseeing Ocean’s worldwide exploration, production and drilling activities; and Senior Vice President of Operations of Seagull Energy.

Prior to serving in those offices, he held various positions at Burlington Resources, including Engineering and Production Manager of the Gulf of Mexico Division and Corporate Acquisition Manager, and at Superior Oil where he began his career in 1981. John currently serves on the Board of Directors of the Houston Alley Theatre and Escape Family Resource Center, both of which are charitable organizations. He is a registered professional engineer in the State of Texas, a charter member and past Chairman of the Petroleum Engineering Industry Board, and a member of the Look College of Engineering Advisory Council at Texas A&M University. John’s professional memberships include the Independent Petroleum Association of America, the American Petroleum Institute and the Society of Petroleum Engineers.

He currently serves on the Boards of the National Ocean Industries Association, the 12th Man Foundation Board of Trustees and is a member of the Aggie 100. John graduated with honors from Texas A&M University with a Bachelor of Science in Petroleum Engineering in 1981, and was inducted into the Texas A&M University Harold Vance Department of Petroleum Engineering’s Academy of Distinguished Graduates in 2008.

Back to top